Parent/Guardian Survey

Identifying and Responding to the Unique Needs of Families of Victims of Child Sexual Abuse Imagery

Returning Participants

If you have already started the survey, please enter your key here, then click "Continue":

Introduction

Thank you for taking the time to consider completing this survey.

This survey is being carried out by the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, which is a registered Canadian charity dedicated to the protection of all children. We are committed to understanding the experiences of those affected by child sexual abuse imagery offences, sharing what we learn and using what we learn to advocate for meaningful change. By better understanding your experiences, we will be in a position to support the countless individuals who have been affected by this crime, including those who have not yet been identified.

This survey is for protective parents and guardians whose children experienced child sexual abuse that was recorded (images or videos). The survey questions are designed to gather information about your experience and are not intended to identify you directly. You will not be asked to provide your name or the name of anyone else.

Your input on this subject is critically important to drive change on this issue. By having a child(ren) that has been affected by child sexual abuse imagery, you are uniquely able to provide valuable insight on this critical issue. We are certain that the results from this groundbreaking survey will help ensure greater and more meaningful support is provided to victims and their families.

We recognize that family members other than parents/guardians may wish to complete the survey in order to share their experience, and we welcome them to do so. While the wording used within the survey questions is directed towards parents and guardians, please think of the questions based on your experience and relationship with the child(ren).

Victims who are 18 years of age or older and have emotional supports in place may wish to provide their input directly by completing the Survivor Survey available at https://survey.c3p.ca/app/en/survivors_survey_v5_start.

We appreciate the sensitivity of the information we are asking for and assure you that we are committed to protecting the privacy of all participants at all times. More information about our privacy commitment is included in the Informed Consent section below.

Completing the survey

The survey is designed to allow you to provide as much or as little detail about your experience as you wish. As such, the amount of time it takes to complete the survey will be dependent upon how much you wish to share. Briefly:

  • The survey is separated into sections. At the start of each section, we have explained the nature of the questions and why we are seeking this specific information.
  • You can skip any questions you do not wish to answer. You will also have the ability to skip individual sections if you do not feel comfortable responding.
  • You can take a break anytime during the survey. Your responses are saved automatically as you respond and when you wish to take a break you will be issued a unique key that you can use to log back in later to finish the survey.
  • You are welcome and encouraged to have a support person with you while you fill out the survey.

For each question, please respond with as much detail as you are comfortable with – taking care not to include identifying details such as names.

If you have any questions or concerns as you go through this process, or feel your or your child(ren)’s experience may not be understood through the process (e.g., if your child(ren) has been victimized by child sexual abuse by different offenders at various points in their life), please do not hesitate to include that in your written responses, or contact us through the link at the bottom of the survey page.

If you wish to speak to a representative from the Canadian Centre for Child Protection to discuss the survey or any questions in the survey, please email us at survivors@protectchildren.ca.

NOTE: Throughout the survey, we have primarily used the term “child sexual abuse imagery.” For clarity, when using this term, we are referencing what is often referred to legally as “child pornography.” Recognizing that the term “child pornography” may minimize the abuse, we believe the term “child sexual abuse imagery” more appropriately describes the abuse. Within child sexual abuse imagery, we are including still images/photographs, videos, live-streamed content, audio and written stories/content.

Enquête auprès des parents et tuteurs de victimes d’abus pédosexuels avec prise d’images

Mieux comprendre les besoins des familles pour mieux y répondre

Pour reprendre le questionnaire à l’endroit où vous l’avez laissé

Si vous avez déjà commencé à répondre à l’enquête, entrez votre code ici, puis cliquez sur « Continuer » :

Introduction

Nous vous remercions d’envisager la possibilité de participer à cette enquête.

Cette enquête est menée par le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance, un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré, voué à la protection de tous les enfants. Nous voulons comprendre la réalité des personnes touchées par des infractions liées à des images d’abus pédosexuels, partager nos apprentissages et nous en servir pour réclamer des changements significatifs.

En comprenant mieux votre réalité, nous pourrons soutenir les innombrables personnes touchées par ce crime, y compris celles qui sont encore dans l’ombre.

Cette enquête s’adresse aux parents et aux tuteurs protecteurs d’enfants ayant subi des abus sexuels enregistrés (photos ou vidéos). Les questions servent à recueillir des informations sur votre réalité et ne visent pas à vous identifier personnellement. Dans le cadre de cette enquête, vous n’aurez pas à vous nommer ni à nommer personne d’autre.

Votre participation est d'une importance capitale pour faire changer les choses. Le fait qu’un pu plusieurs de vos enfants soit affecté par des images d’abus pédosexuels vous place dans une situation idéale pour apporter un éclairage précieux sur cette problématique majeure. Nous avons la conviction que les résultats de cette enquête inédite aideront à faire en sorte qu’un soutien plus significatif et plus concret puisse être apporté aux victimes et à leurs familles.

Nous sommes conscients que d’autres proches des victimes (autres que leurs parents ou tuteurs) souhaiteront peut-être répondre à cette enquête pour partager leur expérience, et nous les invitons à le faire. Le cas échéant, ne tenez pas compte du fait que les questions s’adressent à des parents et tuteurs et répondez-y en fonction de votre réalité et de votre relation avec le ou les enfants victimes.

Si vous êtes une victime âgée de 18 ans ou plus et que vous bénéficiez d’un soutien émotionnel, nous vous invitons à répondre personnellement à notre Enquête auprès des survivant.e.s, au https://survey.c3p.ca/app/fr/survivors_survey_v5_start.

Nous sommes bien conscients de la sensibilité des questions que nous posons et nous vous assurons que nous protégerons la vie privée de tous les participant.e.s en tout temps. Pour plus de détails sur notre promesse de confidentialité, consultez la rubrique « Consentement éclairé ».

L’enquête

Cette enquête vous laisse toute la latitude voulue pour donner autant de détails que vous le désirez sur votre réalité. Le temps nécessaire pour répondre à l’enquête dépendra donc de la quantité d’informations que vous voudrez bien fournir. En gros :

  • L’enquête est divisée en sections. Au début de chaque section, nous expliquons la nature et le pourquoi des questions posées.
  • Vous pouvez sauter les questions auxquelles vous ne souhaitez pas répondre. Vous pouvez également sauter une section si vous ne vous sentez pas à l’aise de répondre aux questions.
  • Vous pouvez prendre une pause à tout moment pendant que vous répondez à l’enquête. Vos réponses s’enregistrent automatiquement au fur et à mesure, de sorte que si vous souhaitez prendre une pause, vous disposerez d’un code unique qui vous permettra de vous reconnecter ultérieurement pour finir de répondre à l’enquête.
  • N’hésitez pas à vous entourer d’une personne compatissante pendant que vous répondez à l’enquête.

Nous vous demandons de donner le maximum de détails que vous êtes à l’aise de donner en réponse à chaque question, tout en prenant soin de ne pas donner de renseignements d’identification (noms, etc.).

Si vous avez des questions en cours de route ou si vous pensez que votre réalité ou celle de votre ou vos enfants pourrait être mal comprise dans le contexte de cette enquête (par exemple, si votre ou vos enfants ont été abusés sexuellement par différentes personnes à différents moments de leur vie), n’hésitez surtout pas à le mentionner dans vos réponses ou communiquez avec nous via le lien en bas de page.

Si vous souhaitez parler à un représentant du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance pour discuter de cette enquête ou de toute question de l’enquête, écrivez-nous à survivant.e.s@protegeonsnosenfants.ca.

N.B. Dans cette enquête, nous utilisons principalement le terme « images d’abus pédosexuels ». Par souci de clarté, précisons que ce terme désigne pour nous ce que les lois désignent souvent par « pornographie juvénile ». Nous sommes d’avis que l’appellation « pornographie juvénile » peut minimiser la gravité des abus et que l’expression « images d’abus pédosexuels » décrit plus exactement ceux-ci. Pour nous, le terme « images d’abus pédosexuels » englobe les photos, les vidéos, les diffusions en direct, les enregistrements audio et les contenus écrits (récits, etc.).