Survivors’ Survey

Identifying and Responding to the Unique Needs of Victims of Child Sexual Abuse Imagery

Returning Participants

If you have already started the survey, please enter your key here, then click “Continue”:

Introduction

Thank you for taking the time to consider completing this survey. The survey questions are designed to gather information about your experience and are not intended to identify you directly. You will not be asked to provide your name or the name of anyone else. We appreciate the sensitivity of the information being collected through the survey and want to assure you that we are committed to protecting the privacy of all participants at all times.

Your input on this subject is very important. Having been affected by the creation and/or distribution of child sexual abuse imagery, you are able to provide valuable insight that no one else can provide and that we strongly believe is essential to increasing society's collective understanding of this issue. We are of the view that the results from this groundbreaking survey will help ensure greater and more meaningful support is provided to victims.

Please take a moment to view two short videos about this project by a survivor of child sexual abuse imagery and one of the members of the survey team, Dr. Sharon Cooper, at protectchildren.ca/app/en/survivors_survey.

NOTE: Throughout the survey, we have primarily used the term “child sexual abuse imagery.” For clarity, when using this term, we are referencing what is often referred to legally as “child pornography.” Recognizing that the term “child pornography” may minimize the abuse/crime, we believe the term “child sexual abuse imagery” more appropriately describes the abuse/crime. Within child sexual abuse imagery, we are including still images/photographs, videos, live-streamed content, audio and written stories/content.

At the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, we are committed to understanding the experiences of those affected by child sexual abuse imagery offences, sharing what we learn and using what we learn to advocate for meaningful change. By better understanding your experience, we will be in a position to support the countless individuals who have been affected by this crime, including those who have not yet been identified. We intend to use the survey results to learn how to prevent children from being victimized by this crime. Where we fail in prevention, we aim to intervene as soon as possible. Lastly, we intend to use the information you provide to drive change and educate police, child protection workers, lawyers, judges, educators and mental health professionals.

There are some conditions potential participants have to meet:

  • 18 years or older
  • victim of physical child sexual abuse, which was recorded in any way

We recognize that the nature of the questions may be difficult and could result in a range of emotions for you. We strongly encourage you to engage your support person(s) before you begin the survey and ensure that they will continue to be accessible to you for support.

Completing the Survey

In order to achieve the outlined goals, the survey is designed to allow you to provide as much or as little detail about your experience as you wish. As such, the amount of time it takes to complete the survey will be dependent upon how much you wish to share.

The survey is separated into sections. At the start of each section, we have explained the nature of the questions and why we are seeking this specific information. You will have the ability to skip the individual sections should you not feel comfortable with the content and purpose. Within each section, you may skip individual questions. You can save your answers and return at another time should you not wish to complete the survey all at once.

For each question, please respond with as much detail as you are comfortable with – taking care not to include identifying details such as names. Your input is critical to the recommendations we will be making to professionals going forward. The survey has been designed to recognize the unique experiences of individuals who have been impacted by this form of victimization. Should you have any questions or concerns as you go through this process, or feel your experience may not be understood through the process (e.g., you have been victimized by hands-on sexual abuse by different offenders at various points in your life), please do not hesitate to contact us through the link at the bottom of the survey page.

Should you wish to speak to a representative from the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, please contact us via email at support@protectchildren.ca or via text message at 204-782-6683.

Enquête auprès des survivantes et survivants

Déterminer les besoins particuliers des victimes de la production et de la diffusion d'images d'abus pédosexuels et y répondre

Pour reprendre l'enquête là où vous l'avez laissée

Si vous avez déjà commencé à répondre à l'enquête, entrez votre code ici, puis cliquez sur « Continuer » :

Introduction

Nous vous remercions d'envisager la possibilité de participer à cette enquête. Les questions servent à recueillir des informations sur votre expérience et ne visent pas à vous identifier personnellement. Dans le cadre de cette enquête, vous n'aurez pas à vous nommer ni à nommer aucune autre personne. Nous sommes bien conscients de la sensibilité des informations que nous recueillons par cette enquête et nous tenons à vous assurer que nous protégerons la vie privée de tous les participants en tout temps.

Votre apport sur ce sujet est très important. Comme victime de la production et (ou) de la diffusion d'images d'abus pédosexuels, vous êtes en mesure d'apporter un éclairage précieux que personne d'autre ne peut apporter et qui est, nous en sommes fermement convaincus, essentiel pour améliorer la compréhension de ce grave problème dans notre société. Nous pensons que les résultats de cette enquête inédite aideront à faire en sorte qu'un soutien plus significatif et plus concret puisse être apporté aux victimes.

Nous vous invitons à regarder deux courtes vidéos : l'une d'une survivante de la diffusion d'images d'abus pédosexuels, et l'autre, de Dre Sharon Cooper, membre de l'équipe d'enquête. Cliquez protegeonsnosenfants.ca/enquete_survivants.

N.B. Dans cette enquête, nous utilisons principalement le terme « images d'abus pédosexuels ». Par souci de clarté, précisons que ce terme désigne pour nous ce que les lois désignent souvent par « pornographie juvénile ». Nous sommes d'avis que l'appellation « pornographie juvénile » peut minimiser la gravité des abus et des crimes et que l'expression « images d'abus pédosexuels » décrit plus exactement ceux-ci. Pour nous, le terme « images d'abus pédosexuels » englobe les photos, les vidéos, le contenu diffusé en continu, le contenu audio ainsi que les récits et autres contenus sous forme écrite.

Au Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, nous voulons comprendre le vécu des victimes d'infractions liées à des images d'abus pédosexuels, partager nos apprentissages et nous en servir pour réclamer des changements significatifs. En comprenant mieux votre vécu, nous pourrons soutenir les innombrables personnes touchées par ce crime, y compris celles qui sont encore dans l'ombre. Nous comptons utiliser les résultats de cette enquête pour voir comment empêcher que des enfants deviennent victimes de ce crime. Là où la prévention aura échoué, nous voudrons intervenir le plus rapidement possible. Enfin, nous comptons utiliser vos réponses pour susciter des changements et éduquer les corps policiers, les enquêteurs de la protection de l'enfance, les avocats, les juges, les éducateurs et les professionnels en santé mentale.

Les participants doivent remplir certaines conditions :

  • avoir 18 ans ou plus;
  • avoir été victime d'un abus pédosexuel physique qui a été enregistré d'une quelconque façon.

Nous sommes conscients que les questions peuvent être difficiles et qu'elles pourraient susciter toutes sortes d'émotions chez vous. Nous vous encourageons fortement à faire appel à une ou plusieurs personnes de confiance avant de commencer à répondre à l'enquête et à vous assurer que ces personnes resteront disponibles pour vous soutenir tout au long de l'exercice.

L'enquête

Pour atteindre les objectifs que nous nous sommes fixés, nous avons conçu les questions de façon à vous permettre de fournir autant ou aussi peu de détails sur votre expérience que vous le désirez. Le temps nécessaire pour répondre à l'enquête dépendra donc de la quantité d'informations que vous voudrez bien fournir.

L'enquête est divisée en sections. Au début de chaque section, nous expliquons la nature des questions posées et les raisons pour lesquelles nous les posons. Vous pourrez passer une section si vous n'êtes pas à l'aise avec son contenu ou son objet. Il en va de même si vous désirez passer une question à l'intérieur d'une section. Vous pouvez enregistrer vos réponses et revenir à l'enquête plus tard si vous ne voulez pas répondre à toutes les questions d'un seul coup.

Pour chaque question, donnez autant de détails que vous êtes à l'aise de le faire. Assurez-vous toutefois de ne pas inclure de renseignements d'identification (noms, etc.). Votre apport est crucial pour les recommandations que nous ferons par la suite aux corps professionnels. Cette enquête vise à rendre compte de l'expérience particulière des victimes de ce crime. Si vous avez des questions en cours de route, ou si vous pensez que l'enquête ne permettra pas de bien rendre compte de votre expérience (par exemple, si vous avez été victime d'abus sexuels physique par différentes personnes à différents moments de votre vie), n'hésitez surtout pas à communiquer avec nous grâce au lien en bas de page.

Si vous souhaitez parler à un représentant du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, communiquez avec nous par courriel à l'adresse soutien@protegeonsnosenfants.ca ou par texto au 204 782-6683.